Grace like Rain

August 2, 2009 at 8:09 am 4 comments


Yesterday, South African’s enjoyed the first rain of the season.

(For those of you not well aquainted with geography (Scoman) the rainy season in SA is in the summer time.)

Rain is a beautiful thing.

I was born in Seattle, home of Starbucks, Nirvana and 240 days a year of rain. Rain holds a special place in my heart.

Kissing in the rain reminds lovers of their passion. Rain cleases. It brings forth life. It reminds us of our incredible ability to be alive.



So few songs remind me so strongly how thankful I am for the rain. The promise of redemption is so strong.

I have one tattoo. The word Grace is written on my ankle as a remembrance of the ‘Grace like rain’ that cleased me and renewed my passion.

“Amazing grace, how sweet the sound, That saved a wretch like me. I once was lost but now I’m found- Was blind but now I see so clearly.

Hallelujah, grace like rain falls down on me, Hallelujah, all my stains are washed away.

‘Twas grace that taught my heart to fear. And grace my fears relieved. How precious did that grace appear. The hour I first believed…

When we’ve been there ten thousand years, Bright shining as the sun. We’ve no less days to sing Your praise Than when we first begun

Hallelujah, grace like rain falls down on me, Hallelujah, all my stains are washed away. (by Todd Agnew).

Entry filed under: Touching Joy. Tags: , , .

Listy-bisty-bobisty-banana fana- fo-fisty Coming to Terms with my Own ‘ness’

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ScoMan  |  August 2, 2009 at 11:46 am

    How the hell was I supposed to know South Africa is in the Southern Hemisphere? It’s not like they give you a clue in the name or anything.

    Reply
  • 2. hillbillyduhn  |  August 2, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    LOL! @ ScoMan.

    I’ve always enjoyed the rain. It makes me want to dance in it. Kiss in it. Splash in the puddles and just stand in it and let it wash over me. Or splat all over me. 🙂

    Either way, rain is awesome!

    Reply
  • 3. MiSS RAmbLEs  |  August 3, 2009 at 8:07 am

    the one thing i miss alot abt africa the smell before a rainstorm omg i miss tht smell!and the rain in england is nothing like the rain in Africa dn’t u wanna post me an African rain storm?!?!?

    Reply
  • 4. sleepyjane  |  August 3, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    OMG I loved the rain on Saturday! It was so nice to wake up to that. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



