Scrap…book…ing.

July 27, 2009 at 3:06 pm 8 comments


My mother is really into scrapbooking.

She does an extraordinary job making the most beautiful pages.

I= N00b.

She’s been harrassing persuading me to join her for ages now. I have an album I ‘did’ when I was a kid. It’s nothing but a mash of cut up pictures and sappy poems I thought were meaningful. It’s truly awful- nay- borderline shameful.

But, I love creating with her. It’s always more fun to get inspiration and use her pretty stamps and fancy buttons. Plus, mom time is always fab. Read: *I adore my mother*

Trouble is, I get such creative blocks! The paper and goodies used to create a scrapbook page are so beautiful and hold so much potential, I sit there and stare at them until I freak myself out so much that I can’t even imagine…RIPPING… TEARING…. DESTROYING…these things to attempt creating something okay looking.

Pathetic? Yes.

Neurotic? Probably.

The makings of a great scrapbooker? No.

I told her I’d try. So this weekend I’ll be trying for real.

Oh I’m gettting the shhhakes.

thoughts?

Entry filed under: Touching Joy. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

One sentence to explain my thoughts. Ok maybe two. Listy-bisty-bobisty-banana fana- fo-fisty

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hillbillyduhn  |  July 27, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    My thoughts on the subject, and what I’ve done in the past, is draw up a quicky version of a template of how I want my page to look BEFORE I start cutting up photo’s. If I like it, I procede. If I don’t like it, then the only thing I’ve wasted is a bit of time and a single peice of paper, instead of a few pics!!

    I have problems keeping up on scrapbooking as well. They end up just journaling about things instead of putting in pictures. Lame. But, I loose interest. And I don’t even know why.

    Reply
    • 2. touchingjoy  |  July 27, 2009 at 5:53 pm

      That’s a really great idea! I think I might actually try that. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. sleepyjane  |  July 28, 2009 at 7:45 am

    I scrapbook, so I can give you a tip.

    Get a few magazines…and make an inspiration file. You start out by trying to re create a page but end up doing your own thing. Works like a charm and you at least get a starting point. 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. touchingjoy  |  July 28, 2009 at 2:57 pm

      That’s a great idea! Thank you!

      Plagerism with a non plagerism twist… I like it 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. ScoMan  |  July 28, 2009 at 9:45 am

    I hope this scrapbooking doesn’t take up all your creative juices and leave your #1 fan out in the cold.

    I think it’s great you and your mum have something you can do together. It’s important to make time for family and these activities are ways of keeping the contact.

    My mum and I watch racing together.

    Reply
    • 6. touchingjoy  |  July 28, 2009 at 2:59 pm

      Like formula 1 racing? Rad.

      Don’t worry there is always extra creativity for my fans. 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. MiSS RAmbLEs  |  July 29, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    i hve a scrap book of all my fave quotes and poems not ashamed in the least its fun!

    ENJOY IT:)

    Reply
  • 8. ChinkyMel  |  August 4, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    Scrapbooking can be really fun, especially if you are doing it with your mom. Don’t be afraid to cut and snip the pretty pages, at the end you’ll come out with something really beautiful. Like Miss Rambles, I also include my favorite quotes in my scrapbook. =) Scrapbooking can be really addicting but it’s the cleaning up afterwards that totally sucks! hehe

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



