Random Crap and other things.

July 17, 2009 at 11:15 am 8 comments


Last night was wonderful. M is now 18 months old and we are some serious besties.

M I love you. And not in a weird Michael Jackson way.

I spent the evening showing him bad habits, including shoving you tongue completely out of the mouth and waving your head from side to side. *So classy*

E is 4 years old- unless you ask him and then he’s 13. He told me of a few problems he’s having in school, including the fact that all the girls are marrying him. He was very disturbed that I no longer lived with my parents (with whom they are staying with during their visit) and am married myself. Which then spurned off the comment that E would like to marry my younger sister. For Real.

His mom nipped that one, “because you two are cousins. And we don’t live in the Free state.”

*deadpan face*

Oh, I love that woman.

There is little I appreciate more than the joy of reunited family.

The Weekend Plans:

Saturday is jam packed with:
1. The Dubaians
2. Coffee with my Mom
3. A Double date with some friends we haven’t seen for ages. They married 8 months or so before Hubs and I and we both got so busy with life that we keep missing one another.
4. And Sleep. Hopefully, lots of sleep. If you’ve been reading my tweets, you’ll know I am one tired madam.

I feel this will improve. The other night, when I awoke at 2 am for no apparent reason other than to piss myself off, Hubs brought me tea and sat up with me chatting about all the things that seemed outside of our control, and ways we could accept these things. Isn’t he wonderful?

Gush over.

Onto other things:

Michele from You and Me and Lucy has given me an award. Thank you for sending me the Meme Award Michele! |*party party* and stuff like that.

The award rules are:
1. Share seven tidbits about myself.
2. Share the award with seven blog friends!

So Here we go. Seven Tidbits about myself (As if I were so interesting)

1. I have this thing against being touched by people. The social hug actually disturbs me greatly. I get full on nervous when I get hugged. Especially by short people. I am 5’11” and often take a shoulder to the throat. It’s icky and if handshakes were more acceptable in the social circle for women I’d forgo the social hug completely.

2. I have a big crush on: 1. Johnny Depp and 2. Sting. I used to think Bono was pretty awesome too. But now he’s just a pile of crap whenever I look at him.

3. I want to learn to decorate cakes like a champion! I’m still no good, but one day I’d love to make a little business out of doing crap like that.

4. I full on don’t understand why people don’t think that they are awesome.

5. People should blame the media for this lack of self esteem. And pretty much everything else too.

6. I dislike people who refuse to be open minded. Not that everyone has to agree, and by open minded I don’t mean liberal, but those who refuse to listen to other opinions are elitist and they should be shunned by society. It’s rude…And probably rooted in the media.

7. Despite despising the media, my main goal is to write an amazing novel one day and maybe a second one. And more. I hope to hone my talent and blow the crappiness surrounding female writers away. Why is it that so many modern female writers pale in comparison to their male counterparts? Because they have allowed themselves to. Yes, I’m talking to you Stephanie Meyers. *evil eyes*

I’ll link to seven Fabulous blogs now:


Being Brazen
– She’s a local blogger who writes a super positive blog – and trickles in some wellness too! 🙂

Hillbilly Duhn – She’s hilarious. She’s classy. and She’s right there for you to go say hi to.

Miss Rambles – She’s a new blog crush of mine. She’s got a voice of her own and style to boot.

Trina – I really enjoy her blog. She’s going through some yuckiness. Go give her a hug.

LiLu – It’s so great that the mightly LiLu visits all her commentors. I get starstruck everytime 🙂

Sco Man – Scoman enjoys long walks on the beach and getting caught in the rain. He’s single and fabulous. Give him a shout out.

Megan– Her blog is so sweet and heartfelt. It’s nice to read serenity.

Mel – Mel’s blog is just a lot of crazy fun. Give her a shout from me too! 🙂

Have a fab weekend! xxoo

Entry filed under: Touching Joy. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Making Today Count Keyword Monday Already! Posted on Sunday night. Yes I am that cool.

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. LiLu  |  July 17, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Aw, chica, you are too sweet!!!! Thanks for making my day 😉

    I, for once, blame the media for everything from my love handles to the face that my cat just licked up my nose. It’s just easier that way.

    Reply
    • 2. touchingjoy  |  July 17, 2009 at 12:45 pm

      *faint* 😀

      Reply
  • 3. sid  |  July 17, 2009 at 11:57 am

    And because we don’t live in the Free State. Hahaha.

    Reply
    • 4. touchingjoy  |  July 17, 2009 at 12:46 pm

      They can like to do funny stuff in dem parts… *snicker*

      Reply
  • 5. hillbillyduhn  |  July 17, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    I laughed out loud at Scomans plug! I totally heard in the voice of whatever his name is from the movie Shrek…

    Open mindedness, awesome!
    People touching me, not so awesome. I’m so with you on the social hug, ewe, handshakes will do just fine for me. In fact, here, where I live, we dont’ even shake hands, we say Hi and nod. Even better!

    I’ve always wanted to decorate cakes too, tried several times, and every now and again still do, but they just suck in comparison to the peeps on that cake decorating show that pile on all the goodies and make rockstar cakes.

    :)off to play with the meme.

    Reply
  • 6. MiSS RAmbLEs  |  July 17, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    awww am all a blush now thanks for the compliment:)and the award too!

    i hate the social hug its so awkward and unnecessary esp wit people you hve jst met why are we hugging you don’t know me i don’t know you so wot the @~#!

    ps are u now playing pimp to ScoMan on the side!

    Reply
  • 7. ScoMan  |  July 18, 2009 at 2:09 am

    18 month olds are fun. They’re brains are just getting to the point where you can teach them bad habits and they don’t understand when others try to stop them doing it. I, for example, taught my niece last weekend to say “Yucky” every time mum showed her her Collingwood footbal club card.

    Thanks for the meme.. 7 things huh? However will I come up with seven things?

    I hope you get lots and lots of sleep. You need it.

    Reply
  • 8. ChinkyMel  |  July 19, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    awwww…kids are sooooooooooooo cute…kids at the age of 4-8 tend to ask a lot of questions too. It’s the time when their imaginations are just flying….
    Anyhow…those seven tidbits about yourself are very interesting.Thanks for sharing that with us. =) I blame the media for a lot of things as well…they tend to blow things out of proportion at times…
    I was reading through your list of fabulous blogs and I clicked on MEL and tada…it was me. lols.hehehehehe thank you so much. Jumping off the other blogs you mentioned on this post… I’m in love with ScoMan’s blog, Lilu, and Miss Rambles blog too. =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



