Love List

July 12, 2009 at 12:54 pm 3 comments




I am really loving love lately. All the different types of love, all the varying sickingly sweet tastes and the hot burns of love.

In fact, I had been reading through one of my old journal entries in which I list over 150 things that I loved when I was 18. I have always been in love with love.

Here is the shortened version of my list that I wrote 20 June 2006 the year I was 18 and Matriculated from High School.


Here are some of the things I listed:

I Love…
* I love eating watermelon on a hot day
* I love the way the fan always is a little louder than the voices in my head.
* I love the way my backyard looks around sunset
* I love waking up first in this house to watch the sunrise at the breakfast table
* I love the feeling of sand between my toes and the pressure of the waves against my body
* I love fooling around during class time
* I love a crackling fire
* I love actually knowing someone’s name
* I love those funny leaves with wasp eggs inside
* I love the people who sit alone- those are the people who truly see the world
* I love the memories of home
* I love the feeling of rain on my skin
* I love standing really close to the speakers
* I love how my Mom asks if she looks good before going out with my Dad
* I love feeling like I belong
* I love getting dressed up
* I love beauty
* I love dancing
* I love weddings and the promise inside them
* I love order in the chaotic
* I love the smell of my Dad
* I love my grandma’s rocking chair.
* I love the thought of being good enough.
* I love my family
* I love loving.
* I love love

It was so interesting reading the things I deemed worthy of love. I still adore the things I mentioned, most of the people I mentioned, and all the emotions I mentioned. It revealed my growth, my joy and even my sorrow. Sure, my list now would involve more grown-up things, like snuggling, a dinner not prepared by my own hands, the warmth of my husband and having a true friend. But why spoil my innocent list with such grown up experiences? Why spoil the promise of tomorrow with the truth of today?

Why stop loving love?

I would love to hear a list of the things you as an 18 year old love. You can post it on a comment or pingback! 🙂

Entry filed under: Touching Joy. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Saturdays are oh so good to me Let me see you, funky animal.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sleepyjane  |  July 13, 2009 at 9:25 am

    Mmm.

    I can tell you what I love now.

    I love working hard.
    I love cuddling with my puppies and J.
    I love sunny days, with nothing to do but to relax.
    I love being creative.
    I love music.
    I love beautiful lyrics.
    I love unexpected compliments.
    I love giving people gifts.

    So many. 🙂 Great post.

    Reply
  • 2. ScoMan  |  July 13, 2009 at 10:25 am

    I love the one you wrote about the fan and the voices. It might also surprise you to know I’m the sort of person who sits and travels alone.. and that the world isn’t really that interesting.

    What did I love when I was 18?

    Tool
    Being alone
    Video games
    Sitcoms
    The Internet

    I’ve come a long way as well

    Reply
  • 3. MiSS RAmbLEs  |  July 14, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    omg at 18 wot did i love?!?!

    i loved the fact that i was about to start uni
    i loved that i was finally gonna be very far from my mother
    i loved that i was at my thinnest
    i loved the freedom that was coming my way
    i loved my life at that point in time

    i have def come a long way,it wouldn’t be growing up otherwise.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



