*Untitled* because I can’t think of one.

June 23, 2009 at 10:58 am 8 comments


I didn’t realise how isolated I would feel once I got married. My single friends humour me as I discuss another night of getting home from work late and cooking dinner before passing out on the couch. I humour them as they discuss the life I used to live, but can no longer relate to. My married friends discuss the future of babies and I bore them with my plans to travel my youth away.

The voices in my head discuss old memories to each other. Remember this? I hear. But today, I don’t want to remember. Yesterday I didn’t want to remember. Grieving the loss of friendships and the old path I travelled, wasn’t part of the plan four months ago when I got married. This wasn’t something I thought would happen. I thought the excitement of the things to come would far outway the things that already came.

Some days it does.

This field-day my emotions are having is completely linked to the seeming lack of girlfriends to galavant with. Hubs helps as much as he can (even taking me shopping. For NO REASON! *go Hubs*. But sometimes a girl’s gotta find some girlfriends to giggle with.

I never thought I’d say that.

Ever.

Entry filed under: Touching Joy. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

I wish I could dump all these words Some Girls like Men with Facial Hair…

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hillbilly Duhn  |  June 23, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Oh, how I know this feeling. Though, a part of me likes being isolated, I’ve become a loner more so in the last couple years then ever, but it seems sometimes, that I would love love love to just kick it with a girlfriend, talk about sex, clothes, etc…

    Unrelated ~ where did ScoMan go?

    Reply
    • 2. touchingjoy  |  June 23, 2009 at 1:54 pm

      Sco left the blogosphere. I’m working on a petition to get him back. Wanna sign?

      Reply
      • 3. Hillbilly Duhn  |  June 24, 2009 at 2:50 pm

        YES! I want to sign a petition. I actually miss him…:(

  • 4. sleepyjane  |  June 23, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Oh hello! I’m not married but I might as well be. I’ve been with 7 for almost 7 years and we’re young so most of the friends from our past are still living at home, going to university and we’re living together, working and living a quiet life.

    Plus it’s really hard to find friends I can relate to, some girls seem so shallow and mean. I don’t like mean, catty people.

    I do miss honest, true, female company though.

    Reply
    • 5. touchingjoy  |  June 23, 2009 at 1:55 pm

      I hear ya. 100%. Where did all the good honest down to earth women go?

      Reply
  • 6. MiSS RAmbLEs  |  June 23, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    am not married but i did move to the UK 2 years ago and before i had loads of girlfriends i could call on any time of the day and they’d be there. but here i have 4 who i can count on but we are all so far from each other we have to schedule to hang out which to me is ridiculous.

    i hve now learnt to be more adventurous on my own which is the plus side i guess but i do miss having tht girly get together on a whim…

    Reply
  • 7. ChinkyMel  |  June 23, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    awww… yeah. My friend was feeling the same. She’s been married for 4 years now. Early this year her hubby got a job out of the country. So she is left with their baby and her job. She gave me a call and said to meet her at the coffee shop. And she just said things are just sooo different.I She’s a bit glad that her hubby is away but she wonders where all of our other friends have gone.

    Reply
  • […] when it’s not all those external things, its the internal junk. You know, the extreme longings for people to UNDERSTAND me. *Suddenly once Hubs and I got married, he no longer counts as some one who needs to […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



