The Naked Truth

December 9, 2008 at 8:08 am 11 comments


Prompted by Hillbilly’s contest I have been thinking a lot about my expression of truth.

It really baffled me. How do I express truth? When has truth been best expressed to me? What is truth? How do I know that it is true? And worst of all how the heck am I going to communicate this to a gaggle of strangers?

And so I thought. A lot. And I worked out clearly what I know truth is NOT.

I really don’t buy into relativism. The thought that truth is transient doesn’t fit well with me. I am transient. I am fleeting. My mortality encourages my search for truth that is steadfast, unwavering, and strong.

My closest experience to Truth was when I was taking a picnic in the Pilansburg Mountains. I wandered off by myself exploring and found a spot on a gigantic rock overlooking a scene much like this one.

I looked out. The wind picked up and threatened to throw me over. The jutting dead trees littering the ground deep below me offered little comfort. For a brief moment,vertigo gripped me fiercely.

I panicked.

I was going to fall.

In my panic I looked to my feet. They were firmly planted. The rock had been my support and I was, in fact, in no danger. I sat there for a while because, despite being on a cliff overlooking a kilometer plummet, I was completely secure. I was not going to fall.

Truth to me has inherent religious connotations. I have no shame in saying I put my trust and my hope in Jesus Christ. This is rock solid. This is stable. This has found me completely secure in my situation. Much like how I felt on that rock in the Pilansburg, despite the immediate danger I am facing, I am safe. The truth is that when the wind dies down and the sun beats upon my face once again, my feet will remain firmly planted in truth and I will not fall.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Nana’s Box Modern Sexism?

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hillbilly Duhn  |  December 9, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    My hubby had mentioned to me that I picked one heck of a subject for people to write about. That I would leave people stumped. He said if I do this again, that perhaps I should keep it simple, if I wanted more comments.

    However, I have enjoyed emensly the comments that I have gotten, and what people wrote.

    So, thank you. Your entry was very very good.

    Reply
  • 2. Random Hiccups  |  December 9, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    That was one heck of a subject! But it was glorious fun!

    Reply
  • 3. Janah @ So Not Mom-a-licious  |  December 9, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Thank you for stopping by my blog to congratulate me! That top picture is pretty amazing! Keep up the great writing!

    Reply
  • 4. Grand Pooba  |  December 9, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    Very insightful! In some ways I think truth is relative but for those who have found their own, it can be an anchor.

    Reply
  • 5. Cyndi  |  December 10, 2008 at 1:54 am

    Good points. I think that it’s the finding your rock and trusting in it that’s important, not so much what your rock is.

    Reply
  • 6. Random Hiccups  |  December 10, 2008 at 4:30 am

    I think both you guys make some interesting points. Since I am generally a black and white person with little grey, I would be very interested in how both of you express truth. Plus Hillbilly’s contest ends soon! Why don’t you give it a shot? 🙂

    Thanks for your input!

    Reply
  • 7. sleepyjane  |  December 10, 2008 at 11:06 am

    That is a hard question, and I think you answered it beautifully.

    Reply
  • 8. Random Hiccups  |  December 10, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Thanks Sleepyjane. I would love to hear what you have to say about YOUR expression of truth.

    Reply
  • 9. Yaya  |  December 11, 2008 at 1:02 am

    Love it!

    I enjoyed writing mine too!

    Reply
  • 10. Hula's Secret Blog  |  December 14, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Congrats on winning!

    Reply
  • 11. Yaya  |  December 14, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    You’re a winner! Good job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



