Sali-

July 30, 2008 at 8:48 am 1 comment


I went to Mozambique over my holidays in June-July for a week. It was such a blast! I learned so much about life, love and God. There was one little girl that really caught my attention and when my creative writing lecturer gave us an ‘own theme’ poetry assignment to write, I jumped on it.

It’s been a hard one to write, not wanting to give her pity and most definitely not wanting to indulge in egotism- just wanting to say what I saw. It’s really difficult. I may revise this a few times before tomorrow, but here it is- raw and uncensored( like most of my work is)…this is my poem about the little girl, Sali…

Sali

The great expanse of dust packed still

By bare feet trampling.

The shadows pool beneath the Marula tree

And dusty rocks, undisturbed, watch

Sali toddles across the plain

Heavy laden, haunting eyes

And the beads and bracelets clanking

And she tumbles

The dust- scarlet and steaming

Embraces her starving body

Childish dreams restrained.

Captivated-

Intensely chasing goats

While fading into the blackness.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Becoming a Nobody A Pair of Shoes

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. With Love « Touching Joy  |  July 10, 2009 at 10:37 am

    […] nowhere than in my own life. This isn’t the first time I’ve posted about this trip. I posted about it a week after returning home. and still couldn’t shake what I saw there. I posted again on the first of January 2009. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



